it’s not a plant, but it looks organic

I’ve recently become acquainted with some of the works of Dale Chihuly, an amazing artist who makes glass look as if it’s alive. He has a spectacular tower, the Fern Green Tower) in the entranceway of the Corning Museum of Glass in our area (http://collection.cmog.org/browser.php?m=objects&kv=38576&i=43666) .

Another example I’ve just discovered is the glass chandelier at the main entrance hall of the Victoria and Albert Museum in London.

dsc01729

This reminds me of forests I saw back in  North Carolina, where the kudzu got out of control and began to cover up the trees. This chandelier looks like the vibrant-colored vines are taking over…

I’ve been to the V&A so many times, especially when I lived in England in the ealry 1990s. Is it possible that I never noticed this chandelier before?

Leave a Reply

