i NEED this in my garden

Corkscrew hazel. Also known as Harry Lauder’s Walking Stick. More properly known as Corylus avellana ‘contorta,’ though I have such a hard time remembering the Latin names for any plants I love. This is such a delightful, whimsical plant, I absolutely must find a great spot in the garden for it.

img_7666-corylus-avellana-contorta.jpg (Note: this photo is from the Scottish Rock Garden Club’s website, which is at http://www.srgc.org.uk)

I would like to plan a little corner of the back garden to be a whimsical garden, a place where fairies might live and a kid’s imagination could run wild. If we were a little warmer, I’d have a Gunnera manicata in a heartbeat, but zone 5b is just too far away from its happy place for me to consider. (That is, at least at this stage of my life. When the kids are grown and gone and I have lots and lots of time and energy to spend on plants instead of kids, then I’ll get a plant needing that kind of intense babying…)

What other whimsical plants are out there that would catch a child’s fancy in a whimsy garden?

Leave a Reply

